Skip to Content

Is Venom Energy Drink Vegan? (And Other Facts)

Is Venom Energy Drink Vegan? (And Other Facts)

Looking for an energy drink that will give you the boost of energy you need? Consider Venom Energy Drink as it provides you with all the sugar and caffeine that can help improve your focus.

Produced and distributed by Dr. Pepper and 7-Up, this energy drink contains the usual caffeine, B-Vitamins, and high sugar level, making Venom a pretty classic energy drink.

But if you’re here, you might be wondering: what exactly goes into a Venom Energy Drink, and is it suitable to be included in a vegan diet?

For the short answer, Venom Energy Drinks are pretty much vegan though not officially certified. That said, it might not be for you if you’re an ethical vegan due to how some ingredients are processed.

For a deeper dive into the analysis of how vegan Venom is, read on to find out more about Venom Energy Drinks and its ingredients to determine if it’s possible to include it in a vegan diet and other diets too.

Venom Energy Nutrition Facts

Let’s get started with Venom Energy Drink’s nutritional values, as shown in the table below:

Typical Value
(Standard Serving)
Venom Energy Drink
(16 fl.oz)
Energy230 calories
Protein 0g
Carbohydrate
(Of which Sugars)
57g
(54g)
Sodium300mg
Caffeine160mg
Vitamin B2
(Riboflavin)
3.2mg
Vitamin B3
(Niacin)
36mg
Vitamin B5
(Panthothenic Acid)
Vitamin B64mg
Vitamin B1212μg
Venom Energy Drink nutritional value.
A picture of Venom Energy Drink Nutrition Facts
You can learn a lot from the back of a can.

Venom Energy Drink Ingredients

Before we dive further, here’s a list of all the ingredients in a can of Venom Energy Drink:

  • Carbonated Water
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Glucose
  • Citric Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Taurine
  • Sodium Citrate (Preservative)
  • L-Carnitine
  • Inositol
  • Sodium Benzoate (Preservative)
  • Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Natural Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Ginseng Extract
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6)
  • Guarana Extract
  • Caramel Color
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B12)
The ingredients of Venom Energy Drink at the back of a can.
Have a look at the ingredient label for Venom Energy Drink.

If you’d like to learn more about the ingredients of Venom Energy Drink, take a look at the article I’ve written previously on the caffeine and ingredients in Venom Energy Drink.

Venom Energy Sugar Content

Venom Energy Drink contains 54g of sugar per 16 fl.oz can, which makes it a concern if you’re looking for something healthy on top of vegan-friendly.

Sure, sugar isn’t all bad, giving you a dopamine boost as well as a mood lift if taken in moderation. However, you can’t always have too much sweetness in life.

According to the AHA, the maximum daily limit for added sugar for both males and females are 36g and 25g, respectively, which puts the amount of sugar in Venom far off the acceptable amount of sugar for both genders.

Consuming excessive amounts of sugar can lead to a whole host of negative health-related side-effects, such as:

  • Cardiovascular disease
  • Diabetes
  • High blood pressure, cholesterol, and triglyceride levels.
  • Kidney disease
  • Liver disease
  • Obesity

On that note, if you’re interested in energy drinks with no sugar at all, take a look at the article I’ve written on the best sugar-free energy drinks.

Venom Energy Caffeine Content

Though the caffeine level of Venom isn’t too high, it still packs a punch, having 160mg of caffeine per 16 fl.oz, which is still a substantial amount.

While it may not make it up to the ranks of some of the strongest energy drinks like Reign and Bang, the caffeine in Venom is enough to give you the full benefits, providing a boost in energy, alertness, and cognitive functions.

That said, you should still make sure that you don’t consume too many cans of Venom as the FDA approves a caffeine intake limit of no more than 400mg per day. Any more than that might lead to side effects such as:

  • Restlessness and shakiness
  • Insomnia
  • Headaches
  • Dizziness
  • Abnormal heart rhythm
  • Dehydration
  • Anxiety

Are The Ingredients in Venom Energy Drink Vegan?

The table below details the properties of each ingredient in a Venom Energy Drink along with their source, and if they’re vegan-friendly:

IngredientsProperties SourceIs It Vegan?
High Fructose Corn SyrupSweetener derived from cornOrganicYes
GlucoseSweetener, thickener and moisturiser used in food productionCorn StarchYes
Citric AcidNatural acid, flavoring, and food preservative Plant-Based/SyntheticYes
MaltodextrinUsed to thicken the volume and preserve processed food Corn StarchYes
TaurineAmino Acid,
Helps stimulate metabolism
Synthetic Yes
Sodium CitrateFlavoring and preservativeSyntheticYes
L-CarnitineHelps improve metabolism and energySynthetic/OrganicUnclear
InositolHelps improve nervous system and produces hormones like serotonin and dopaminePlant-Based/ SyntheticYes
Sodium Benzoate PreservativeSyntheticYes
Potassium SorbatePreservativePlant-BasedYes
NiacinamideVitamin B3SyntheticTypically Vegan
Natural FlavorsFlavoringAnimal/Plant-BasedMay be Non-Vegetarian
SucraloseArtificial SweetenerSynthetic Yes
Ginseng ExtractHerb that helps improves memory and brain functions.Plant-BasedYes
Pyridoxine HydrochlorideVitamin B6Synthetic Typically Vegan
Guarana ExtractContains antioxidants and stimulantsPlant-BasedYes
Caramel ColorFood flavoring and coloringNatural Sources (Sugar or Corn)Yes
RiboflavinVitamin B2Plant-BasedTypically Vegan
CyanocobalaminVitamin B12SyntheticUnspecified
A table showing the vegan-friendliness of the ingredients in Venom Energy Drink.

I’ve also used PETA’s animal-derivative ingredients list as a reference, so if you compare the two, you can see that almost all of Venom Energy Drink’s ingredients are vegan.

As the majority of the ingredients in Venom Energy Drink are vegan-friendly, consuming Venom Energy Drink should be alright if you’re vegan for the health benefits.

Is The Taurine in Venom Energy Drink Vegan?

Taurine in Venom is an amino acid that’s produced synthetically, which makes it a vegan ingredient.

While there may be concerns about the taurine being sourced from animals, you shouldn’t be too worried because taurine used in energy drinks is mainly produced synthetically in labs.

The process usually comes from chemical synthesis inside the labs and doesn’t involve any animals.

Hence, it’s safe to say that the taurine in Venom Energy Drinks is vegan-friendly as it doesn’t come from animal sources.

If you’d like to read more on taurine and its benefits, have a look at the article I’ve written on the subject here.

Is The Artificial Sweetener in Venom Energy Drink Vegan?

Sucralose is a zero-calorie artificial sweetener that gives out more flavoring than normal sugar and doesn’t contain any animal ingredients.

While it doesn’t really add any nutritional values, the sweet flavor from sucralose is 600 times stronger than sugar. So, you get to enjoy the taste of sugar in your energy drink without feeling guilty about it.

But there seems to be a debate concerning the use of artificial sweeteners as there were reports the production includes animal testing.

However, the use of artificial sweeteners for general consumption has been approved by the FDA, so if you’re more of a dietary-vegan than an ethical one, Venom Energy Drink is completely fine to consume.

That said, in the case of Venom Energy Drink, a substantial amount of sugar is already present in the drink, so I personally feel that the presence of artificial sweeteners is a little redundant.

If you’re not a fan of artificial sweeteners, you may find yourself some other great options in the article I’ve written on the best energy drinks with less sugar.

Is The L-Carnitine in Venom Energy Drink Vegan?

L-Carnitine comes from an amino acid that improves your physical performance by transforming body fat into energy.

Because carnitine is mainly found in meats and dairy products, you may have a lower level of carnitine in your body system if you’re vegan or vegetarian.

In my opinion, adding Venom Energy Drink to your vegan diet is beneficial as it helps give you that extra carnitine.

Also, if you’re a vegan concerned about the carnitine levels in your body, supplements would be a good alternative to energy drinks as well.

Are The Natural Flavors in Venom Energy Drink Vegan?

While the exact source of Venom’s natural flavor is unclear, this flavoring agent is generally taken from plants or animals, so this uncertainty may be a concern for you if you follow a strict vegan diet.

Generally, manufacturers use substances from plants, fruit, or animals to upgrade the taste of a food product; companies tend to keep their natural flavors ingredients unlisted to maintain their brand image.

Personally, I think the natural flavors used in Venom Energy drinks mainly comes from fruit juice to enhance their fruit-flavored drinks.

But if you’re still worried about the source of the natural flavor, your best bet is to contact the manufacturer directly for answers.

Is Venom Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

While Venom Energy Drink isn’t officially certified as gluten-free, it doesn’t contain any traces of wheat, whey, or rye products, so it should be safe for a gluten-free diet.

A gluten-free diet is primarily focused on improving your general health unless you are gluten intolerant, which is common if you have celiac disease.

As there isn’t any official statement stating whether or not Venom Energy Drink is gluten-free, it’s still best to consult a health specialist first, especially if you plan on adding it to your diet.

If you want to know more about gluten and how it may affect your diet, take a look at the video below:

Is Venom Energy Drink Keto-Friendly?

As one can of Venom Energy Drink contains about 230 calories on top of being a sugary energy drink, it may not be a good option if you’re on a Keto-diet.

In brief, the keto-diet includes a high-fat but low-carb diet. Its primary purpose is to improve your overall health and help with weight loss.

As Venom Energy Drink is high in calories and sugar, I suggest that you go for something that’s low-sugar and zero-calorie if you want to include energy drinks in your diet.

If you’re looking for an energy drink to complement your Keto diet, you can read about the best keto-friendly energy drinks in the article I’ve written here. You’ll definitely find yourself some good options.

Is Venom Energy Drink Vegan-Friendly?

A picture of Black Mamba snake
No, definitely not this venom.

If you’re looking at it from a surface-level ingredients perspective, then Venom Energy Drinks are vegan-friendly. However, its unclear sources for sucralose and natural flavors may make it non-vegan for some.

That said, if you’re vegan for the health benefits, it should be alright to include this in your diet, but if you’re concerned about the ethics behind food processing, the use of sucralose may turn you off from Venom.

Though ultimately, as always, it’s up to your personal values and preferences as a vegan to make the final call.

Venom Energy Flavors

Although Venom Energy doesn’t have a wide range of flavors to offer, they do come in two versions, as seen in the list below:

Venom Regular

  • Black Mamba
  • Death Adder
  • Killer Tapian
  • Mojave Rattler
  • Black Cherry Kiwi

Venom Low-Calorie

  • Citrus
  • Strawberry Apple
  • Watermelon Lime

Venom Energy Drink Alternatives

If you’re not too keen on Venom Energy Drinks, here is a list of other good alternatives for you:

You can take a look at at some of these powdered versions too:

REIZE (10 out of 10)

A picture of REIZE energy drink
REIZE is convenient and delicious.

If the high calories in Venom Energy Drink aren’t suitable for you, how about trying out my personal fav, REIZE?

REIZE is a convenient energy drink to have, as it comes in 4g sachets, which makes it the perfect companion buddy. Not to mention, it only has 50mg of caffeine, 11 calories per serving, and is completely sugar-free.

REIZE is also packed with a smart blend of taurine, ginseng, and B-group vitamins, which gives you the perfect energy boost without the sugar crash afterward.

The best thing of all, REIZE ships straight to your door for only $1 per drink, which is great value for money.

So try REIZE today, and I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s a smarter choice than Venom Energy Drink.

Other Articles: