NOS Energy might not as popular as Red Bull or Bang, but it definitely can provide you with a great boost for your day.
Designed to look like a nitrous injection system, NOS has been associated and advertised in various kinds of motorsports. Packed with 160mg of caffeine and 55g of sugar, NOS Energy is ready to fuel your day, but there’s just one question:
Is NOS Energy vegan-friendly?
The short answer is that NOS is definitely vegan-friendly on the surface level. But it does contain non-cruelty-free ingredients, so if you’re an ethical vegan, this drink isn’t the best option to complement your diet.
For a more detailed discussion, stick around as I explore the ingredients and their sources in NOS, along with if it’s suitable for different diets.
If you want to know more about the effects of NOS Energy in general, check out my NOS Energy Drink Review article for my take on it.
Table of Contents
NOS Energy Drink Nutrition Facts
|Typical Values||NOS Energy Drink (16 fl.oz)|
(Of Which Saturated)
(Of Which Sugars)
NOS Energy Drink Ingredients
Before we dive further, let’s take a look at the ingredients that a 16fl.oz can of NOS Energy contains:
- Carbonated water
- High fructose corn syrup
- Citric acid
- Sodium citrate
- Natural & artificial flavors
- Sodium hexametaphosphate (preservative)
- Potassium sorbate (preservative)
- Red #40
- Calcium sodium EDTA (preservative)
- Pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6)
- Blue #1
- Guarana extract
- Cyanocobalamin (vitamin B12)
NOS Energy Drink Caffeine Content
While the caffeine content of NOS Energy isn’t the highest out there, it can still pack a punch with 160mg per 16fl.oz, which happens to be a decent amount.
For an energy drink of its size, NOS Energy is pretty moderate in terms of its caffeine content, having the same amount as brands like Full Throttle and Monster.
Though it’s not the strongest energy drink you can find, the caffeine present in NOS Energy can still benefit you with a substantial energy boost, together with an increase in alertness and cognitive performance.
Of course, whether you’ll be able to tolerate this drink or not depends on your caffeine metabolism.
If you happen to be caffeine-sensitive, you might develop side effects just after drinking half a can of NOS Energy, so make sure to know your limits and listen to your body before going for this drink.
- Restlessness and shakiness
- Rapid heart rhythm
Thus, make sure to moderate your caffeine intake and regularly switch with healthier drinks like water, as not even a vegan diet can spare you from a bad case of the jitters.
NOS Energy Drink Sugar Content
Every 16fl.oz can of NOS Energy drink contains 54g of sugar, which is quite an alarming amount if you’re trying to keep yourself healthy while on a vegan diet.
Sure, some sugar now and then isn’t bad, since it can boost your mood and mental performance when taken in moderation. But, too much sweetness in your diet is a bad thing.
For reference, the AHA recommends a daily sugar limit of 25g and 36g for women and men respectively, which means that a single can of NOS exceeds the acceptable daily intake for both genders.
Consuming too much sugar can lead to a whole lot of negative health issues such as:
- Cardiovascular disease
- High blood pressure
As such, I wouldn’t recommend having NOS Energy too often and sticking to a limit of one can in a day when you really need a quick boost.
On that note, if you prefer something with no sugar at all, check out my article on the best sugar-free energy drinks for some great options.
Are The Ingredients In NOS Energy Drink Vegan?
The table below lists the ingredients in NOS Energy drink and their sources, along with information on whether they’re vegan or not:
|Ingredients||Properties||Source||Is It Vegan?|
|High fructose corn syrup||Sweetener derived from corn||Organic||Yes|
|Citric acid||Natural acid, flavoring, and food preservative||Plant-Based/Synthetic||Yes|
|Sodium citrate||Flavoring and preservative||Synthetic||Yes|
|Inositol||Helps improve nervous system and produces hormones like serotonin and dopamine||Plant-Based/ Synthetic||Yes|
Helps stimulate metabolism
|Guarana extract||Contains antioxidants and stimulants||Plant-based||Yes|
|Red #40||Food dye||Synthetic||Yes|
|Calcium sodium EDTA||Preservative and Flavoring Agent||Synthetic||Yes|
|Blue #1||Food dye||Synthetic||Yes|
|Pyridoxine hydrochloride||Vitamin B6||Synthetic||Typically vegan|
I’ve run the ingredients in NOS Energy with PETA’s animal-derived ingredients list, so it’s safe to assume that most of the ingredients in NOS Energy are vegan-friendly.
However, I will admit that while some of the ingredients in NOS are vegan themselves, they might not be ethically vegan. But if you’re just a vegan for health purposes, having a can of NOS won’t pose too much of an issue.
Is Taurine In NOS Energy Vegan?
Taurine is usually produced synthetically, so the taurine in NOS Energy is definitely vegan-friendly.
While there was controversy about taurine being produced from animals way back when you can rest easy knowing that taurine within energy drinks is usually produced synthetically in labs.
A such, the taurine you find in energy drinks are created through the chemical synthesis in labs and doesn’t involve any animal-based ingredients in the process.
Therefore, it’s safe to say that the taurine in NOS Energy is vegan-friendly as it’s not derived from animal-based sources.
Is The Guarana Extract In NOS Energy Vegan?
Guarana extract comes from the guarana plant, thus it’s definitely vegan-friendly.
The guarana plant is a Brazilian plant that has lots of benefits including being rich in antioxidants and improving mental focus.
Guarana extract is created by processing the guarana seeds into powder form.
As this ingredient originally comes from a natural source, it’s certainly vegan.
Is The High Fructose Corn Syrup In NOS Energy Vegan?
High fructose corn syrup comes from corn syrup, which is processed from corn, hence it’s safe to say that this ingredient is definitely vegan.
High fructose corn syrup (HFCS) is a sweetener used to improve the flavors of processed foods and beverages.
Since it’s just a type of sugar derived from corn starch, it’s vegan-friendly. However, this sweetener might not be the best thing you can have in your diet.
So, even if this sugar is vegan-friendly, you shouldn’t have it on a daily basis. Considering that NOS has a large amount of sugar, my advice is to only have it occasionally.
Are The Colorings In NOS Energy Vegan?
The colorings in NOS Energy are Red#40 and Blue#1, which are synthetically produced, thus making them vegan by themselves. But depending on your views as a vegan diet, these food colorings may cause some concerns as it has a history of being tested on animals.
Red #40 and Blue #1 are food dyes that are usually used to add color to food products. They are synthesized in labs and are derived from petroleum.
As they’re synthetic and don’t involve animals, these food dyes are basically vegan.
If you’re an ethical vegan, you might have a problem with this and would want to steer clear of NOS Energy. But if you’re on a vegan diet for the sake of your health, then this won’t an issue for you.
Of course, I can’t speak for all vegans as the vegan lifestyle is definitely a sliding scale. Whether you refuse to have NOS Energy or not due to the presence of these colorings really depends on your views as a vegan.
Is The Sucralose In NOS Energy Vegan?
Sucralose is a zero-calorie sweetener that’s used to enhance the flavors of food products and doesn’t contain any animal-based ingredients.
Though it doesn’t have much of a nutritional value, sucralose is much, much sweeter than sugar itself. Thus, you’ll get maximal sweetness from NOS due to the presence of both the sweetener and sugar in it.
However, sucralose is generally safe for consumption as it has been approved by the FDA for usage in food products. So, if you’re on a vegan diet for its benefits rather than an ethical one, NOS Energy is completely alright for you.
Personally, though, I do feel the addition of sucralose into this drink is unnecessary as it already has a large amount of sugar, so it’s definitely not winning any points health-wise.
If you much rather your energy drinks be on the healthier side of things, have a look at the article I’ve written on the best all-natural energy drinks for some wholesome alternatives.
Is NOS Energy Drink Gluten-Free?
NOS Energy drink is certified gluten-free and doesn’t contain wheat, whey, and rye products.
If you have celiac disease or an intolerance to gluten products, following a gluten-free diet is extremely important for your health.
While NOS Energy is certified gluten-free, you can always consult a nutritionist to find out including NOS in your daily diet is suitable and beneficial for you or not.
Is NOS Energy Drink Keto-Friendly?
Because one can of NOS Energy drink contains 210 calories along with high sugar content, it’s not the best choice if you’re on a keto diet.
Basically, a keto diet is a low-carb, high-fat diet that would help in weight loss and enhance your health.
Since NOS Energy has a large number of calories and sugar, it wouldn’t help with your diet at all, hence I suggest opting for low-sugar and low-calorie energy drinks instead.
If you’re looking for something healthier to complement your keto diet, check out my best keto-friendly energy drinks article, where you’ll find some amazing recommendations.
For more information on what a keto diet is all about, check out this video:
Is NOS Energy Drink Vegan-Friendly?
If the biggest priority in your vegan diet is whether the ingredients in your energy drinks are vegan or not, then NOS Energy is indeed vegan-friendly. But if you’re on a vegan diet for ethical reasons, this drink might not be for you.
Since everyone can go on a vegan diet for specific reasons, there can varying opinions on if NOS Energy is vegan or not.
Ultimately, it really boils down to your views on the vegan diet, and how strict you are with your diet as a vegan.
Alternatives To NOS Energy Drink
If NOS Energy isn’t your cup of tea, here’s a list of other great options that might cater to your preferences instead:
You could also take a look at the powdered versions of energy drinks too, since they grant you the flexibility to customize your energy drink:
REIZE (10 Out Of 10)
If you find that the sugar and caffeine in NOS are too high for you, how about giving REIZE a try?
REIZE is a powdered energy drink that comes in light 4g sachets, making it super convenient and easy to bring around wherever you go.
Plus, it has only 50mg of caffeine, its sugar-free, and contains 11 calories per serving, which leaves unnecessary calories out of your overall diet.
Additionally, REIZE is packed with a smart blend of ingredients like 1000mg of taurine, ginseng, and B vitamins that combine together to supply you with the perfect energy boost without any sugar crash involved.
The best part is that REIZE ships to your doorstep for only about $1 per drink, which is amazing value for money.
Give REIZE a try today, and you might agree that it’s a smarter option than the NOS Energy drink.