Skip to Content

Is AMP Energy Drink Vegan? (And Other Facts)

Is AMP Energy Drink Vegan? (And Other Facts)

If you ever need an energy drink to kick your energy levels into overdrive, AMP Energy might be a pretty good option, having a potent blend of sugar, caffeine, and various other ingredients, which give you a pretty good boost.

While this particular energy drink from the makers of Mountain Dew may give you a good sugar high, the question is, is AMP Energy actually viable for a vegan diet?

In brief, AMP Energy Drinks are as close to being vegan without being officially certified. That said, it might not be for you if you’re an ethical vegan, concerned about how sugar and food colorings are processed.

For a more detailed response, read on to find out more about AMP Energy Drinks and how viable they are for a vegan diet, as well as other diets along the way.

AMP Energy Drink Ingredients

First up, here’s a list of all the ingredients that go into a can of AMP Energy drink:

  • Carbonated Water
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Citric Acid
  • Concentrated Orange Juice
  • Natural Flavors
  • Sodium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness)
  • Sodium Polyphosphates (To Protect Flavor)
  • Caffeine (142mg)
  • Guarana Seed Extract
  • Gum Arabic
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Ascorbic Acid (To Protect Flavor)
  • Taurine
  • Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Protect Flavor)
  • Riboflavin
  • Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5)
  • Panax Ginseng Root Extract
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B5)
  • Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B12)
AMP Energy Drink Ingredients List

If you would like a more in-depth look at the ingredients of AMP Energy Drink, check out the article I’ve written on the caffeine and ingredients in AMP Energy for a more detailed explanation of what they do.

Are The Ingredients in AMP Energy Drink Vegan?

Now that we know what goes into an AMP Energy Drink, here’s a table detailing their properties, usual sources, and whether or not they’re vegan-friendly.

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs It Vegan?
High Fructose Corn SyrupSweetener derived from corn.OrganicYes
Citric AcidNatural acid, flavoring and food preservativeOrganicYes
Concentrated Orange JuiceFlavoring and taste.Plant-basedYes
Sodium BenzoatePreservativeSyntheticYes
Sodium PolyphosphatesPreservativeSyntheticYes
CaffeineStimulant, helps to keep you awake and improve cognitive function.Plant-based/ SyntheticYes
Guarana Seed ExtractContains antioxidants and stimulantsPlant-basedYes
Gum ArabicGum from the acacia tree, stabilising agentOrganicYes
Ascorbic AcidVitamin C, protects flavorSyntheticYes
Calcium Disodium EDTATo protect flavorSynthethicYes
TaurineAmino acidSynthetic Yes
Panax Ginseng Root ExtractHerb; improves memory and thinking skills.Plant-basedYes
A table showing the vegan-friendliness of the ingredients in AMP.

I’ve crossed-referenced the information above with PETA’s animal-derivative ingredients list, so there shouldn’t be too many discrepancies between the two.

As you can see, there’s really nothing in AMP Energy Drink that can be constituted as a non-vegan or animal-derived ingredient, so if you’re a health-focused vegan, having an AMP should be perfectly fine.

Is The Taurine in AMP Energy Vegan-Friendly?

Taurine is a common amino acid in energy drinks and is generally derived from synthetic sources, making it a vegan ingredient.

While Taurine is most naturally found in animal sources, the taurine in energy drinks, such as AMP Energy Drink and many others, are usually derived from chemical synthesis inside labs.

As such, you can rest assured that the taurine in your energy drink is most likely vegan and not derived from animal sources.

For more information on taurine on how exactly it can benefit, check out the article I’ve written on the benefits of taurine; you’re sure to find it informative.

Are The Colorings Used In AMP Energy Vegan-Friendly?

Food colorings are usually derived from vegan-friendly sources, but the ethical concerns surrounding their testing and implementation are a pretty big cause for concern for some vegans.

If you happen to be an ethical vegan, the fact that food colorings have been (and continue to be) tested on animals is a pretty big issue, even if the colorings themselves are vegan-friendly.

Considering that AMP uses the colorings Yellow 5 and Blue 1, both of which have been tested on animals, it might not be wholly safe for vegan consumption, at least from an ethical perspective.

That being said, the colorings themselves are usually vegan-friendly and have a very minimal effect on the overall nutrition of AMP Energy.

As such, if you’re only concerned if the ingredients themselves are vegan or not, then the colorings in AMP Energy shouldn’t be too much of a concern.

How Much Sugar Is In AMP Energy Drink?

A spoonful of sugar poured into a container of sugar.
Tasty, but not exactly healthy.

At 58g of sugar per 16 fl.oz, AMP Energy Drink certainly is on the higher end of the sugary energy drinks scale.

For reference, 58g is nearly 4 tablespoons worth of sugar, which is definitely quite a bit.

Given that the AHA recommends a daily sugar limit of no more than 25g for women and 36g for men, a single can of Amp Energy definitely far exceeds what you should be having in a single day.

Now that’s not to say that having sugar is completely bad as it’s still an easy source of energy for your cells, giving you a good boost when you feel a bit low from a lack of calories.

But while sugar is fine to have on occasion as a treat, consistently having too much sugar can lead to some pretty bad health problems, such as:

  • Weight Gain
  • Type II Diabetes
  • Increased risk of heart disease
  • Acne
  • Increased risk of depression

Apart from that, you’re a lot more likely to suffer from a sugar crash after the caffeine wears off, where you feel slow and lethargic as your body tries to process all the added sugar into your system.

All-in-all, while a can of AMP Energy will definitely give you a rush, it’s not exactly a viable energy drink for endurance work, so be sure to have it minimally to keep your overall daily sugar intake at reasonable levels.

If you don’t feel like having sugar in your energy drinks and just want a caffeine hit with carbonation, check out the article I’ve written on the best sugar-free energy drinks where I’ve listed some notable alternatives.

Is The Sugar In AMP Energy Drink Vegan?

While sugar by itself is usually derived from plant sources, the processing of sugar, specifically through the use of bone char, may render it non-vegan for you if you’re an ethical vegan.

Considering that sugar is oftentimes derived from organic plant sources, there really isn’t any reason that the ingredient itself shouldn’t be vegan-friendly.

That being said, some sugars do use bone char in their refining process, which is a pretty big concern if you’re an ethical vegan,

This is even more concerning as the company doesn’t disclose how the sugar in their product is sourced and processed.

While you may be concerned, PETA also states that you shouldn’t stress too much about sugar, as there are other ways to show solidarity against animal cruelty than worrying about the sugar content of your drink.

And if you’re still worried about the sugar source, contacting the manufacturer is probably the best way to get a direct answer.

In-turn, you could also opt for sugar-free energy drinks instead, where you don’t have to worry about where sugar is sourced from due to the drink being, of course, sugar-free.

How Much Caffeine Is In AMP Energy Drink?

A regular 16 fl.oz can of AMP Energy has 142mg of caffeine, which is fairly typical for an energy drink of its size.

Caffeine is probably the most important ingredient in an energy drink. It helps to keep you awake, improve reaction times as well as assist in overall cognitive function.

As for how vegan it is, the caffeine in AMP Energy is most likely either organically sourced from plants or synthetically made, either of which is definitely vegan-friendly.

While AMP isn’t too strong of an energy drink, 142mg of caffeine per serving is still slightly higher than normal, especially if you aren’t from a coffee background or are inexperienced with caffeinated beverages.

Personally, I prefer my energy drinks to have between 50 to 100mg of caffeine per serving, which I find is just enough to give me a decent boost without a headache afterward.

But, depending on your caffeine metabolism and overall lifestyle, the energy boost you get from Amp will vary, so the best is to know your personal caffeine limits before downing an entire can in one go.

As for having too much caffeine, the FDA approves a caffeine intake limit of no more than 400mg per day. Any more than that might lead to some unpleasant side effects such as:

  • Insomnia
  • Restlessness
  • Headaches
  • Stomachaches
  • Dizziness
  • Dehydration
  • Anxiety

So be sure to keep your daily caffeine intake within reasonable levels and try your best not to double down on AMP Energy alongside other caffeinated beverages such as coffee or tea, in case you go over the limit.

Is AMP Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

While not officially certified, AMP Energy Drinks don’t seem to contain any traces of wheat, whey, or rye products, so it should be relatively fine for a gluten-free diet.

While having celiac disease is a different point, a gluten-free diet is supposedly beneficial for general health and diet improvements, and it isn’t something that you must avoid in your diet.

As for the presence of gluten in AMP Energy Drinks, the official FAQ page below has this to say:

We don’t make gluten-free label claims, but none of the ingredients in our products are derived from grains or flours that have been linked to malabsorption syndrome associated with gluten sensitivity.

Mtn Dew AMP FAQ Page ( Is AMP Gluten Free?)

So there you have it, AMP Energy Drinks are most likely gluten-free.

Is AMP Energy Drink Keto-Friendly?

Due to the requirement of keto diets that recommends reducing your overall carb intake, having a can of AMP Energy might not be the best idea due to its high sugar content.

The Keto Diet is basically a low-carb, high-fat diet that offers plenty of health benefits, such as weight loss and general health improvements to those who follow said diet.

Considering you need to reduce your overall carb intake if you’re undergoing a keto diet, a can of AMP with its 58g of sugar really isn’t the best energy drink to complement such a diet.

So if you’re looking for energy drinks that complement your keto diet, take a look at the article I’ve written specifically on the best energy drinks for a keto diet, which will definitely help you pick out the right one.

And for more information on the keto diet and how exactly you should go about doing it, have a look at the video below:

Is AMP Energy Drink Vegan-Friendly?

Vegan plate
Are AMP Energy Drinks vegan enough?

To conclude, AMP Energy Drinks are perfectly vegan from an ingredients perspective, but the use of sugar and food colorings may render it non-vegan for some.

As stated by AMP’s official website when discussing the question of whether or not there are animal byproducts in their drink:

Any rumors stating that our beverages contain animal products or byproducts are completely false.

Mtn Dew AMP FAQ Page (Are there any animal byproducts in your products?)

As such, it’s pretty safe to assume that AMP Energy Drinks themselves are vegan-friendly, especially if you’re looking at it purely from a nutritional/ingredient perspective.

But if you’re a vegan who’s concerned about the ethics behind food processing, the inclusion of sugar (from an undisclosed source) and food colorings may rightfully turn you away from AMP Energy.

All-in-all, it’s really up to where you stand on the sliding scale of veganism as to whether or no AMP Energy Drinks are vegan or not for you, but do remember, just because it’s vegan, it doesn’t exactly mean its healthy.

AMP Energy Drink Flavors

With only 4 flavors, AMP has a rather small pool of fruity options for you to choose from.

  • Original Dew
  • Tropical Punch
  • Strawberry Limeade
  • Cherry Blast

AMP Energy Drink Alternatives

If you like the taste of V Energy, here are some other energy drinks that you might enjoy as well.

There are also some awesome powdered options too, such as:

REIZE (10 out of 10)

REIZE powder being poured into a glass of ice.
REIZE, the ideal energy drink.

If you want to do away with all the sugar and calories of AMP Energy Drink, how about trying out REIZE?

REIZE is a brilliant powdered energy drink that comes in convenient 4g sachets. With a sensible 50mg of caffeine, it’s completely sugar-free and has only 11 calories per serving.

REIZE also contains a smart blend of taurine, ginseng, and B-group vitamins, all of which combine to give you the perfect energy boost without the sugar crash afterward.

The best thing of all, REIZE ships straight to your door for only about $1 per drink, which is great value for money.

So try REIZE today, and I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s a smarter choice than AMP Energy.

Other Articles

Monster Energy Drink Review (Full Facts)
← Previous
V Energy Drink Caffeine and Ingredients (In-Depth)
Next →
Comments are closed.