Is Adrenaline Shoc Energy Drink Vegan? (And More)

Adrenaline Shoc is filled with plenty of caffeine and amino acids for your energy needs, but there’s an especially important question that has yet to be answered:

Are Adrenaline Shoc energy drinks vegan-friendly?

Let me get straight to the point:

Adrenaline Shoc isn’t entirely vegan-friendly as it might contain several ingredients sourced from animals. Of course, I can’t confirm it officially and it’s best if you contact the company for concrete validation.

Stick around for a closer look at Adrenaline Shoc from a dietary perspective for a better understanding.

Let’s get started…

Adrenaline Shoc Ingredients

Nutrition facts on the back of Adrenaline Shoc energy drink
Nutrition facts on the back of Adrenaline Shoc.

Here’s a quick list of Adrenaline Shoc’s ingredients:

  • 0 calories
  • 300mg of caffeine (making it one of the strongest energy drinks available)
  • 0g total fat
  • 105mg sodium
  • 0g total carb
  • 0g sugars
  • 0g protein
  • 52mg potassium
  • 8mg niacin (Vitamin B3)
  • 0.9mg Vitamin B6
  • 50mcg folic acid (Vitamin B9)
  • 11mg magnesium
  • Vitamin B12

It also contains traces of the following:

  • Carbonated filtered water
  • Citric acid
  • Sodium citrate
  • Natural caffeine (green coffee beans)
  • Potassium phosphate (electrolyte)
  • L-Leucine
  • Magnesium chloride (electrolyte)
  • L-Valine
  • L-Isoleucine
  • L-Lysine
  • L-Histidine
  • Sea salt (ocean mineral electrolyte)
  • Sucralose (artificial sweetener)
  • L-Phenylalanine
  • Acesulfame potassium (artificial sweetener)
  • L-Theonine
  • L-Trytophan
  • L-Methionine
  • Natural flavour
  • Niacinamide (vitamin B3)
  • Potassium chloride (electrolyte)
  • Ginseng root extract
  • Pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6)
  • Coenzyme Q-10
  • Coffee fruit extract
  • Guarana seed extract
  • Folic acid (vitamin B9)
  • Yerba mate extract
  • Cyanocobalamin (vitamin B12)

Are Adrenaline Shoc Ingredients Vegan?

Now that you have an idea of the ingredients in Adrenaline Shoc energy drink, we can go through each of their properties and sources.

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs It Vegan?
Citric AcidNatural preservative, adds a sour taste to the drinkPlant-based/SyntheticYes
Sodium CitrateFull additive, flavor or preservativeSyntheticYes
CaffeineStimulantPlant-basedYes
Potassium PhosphateMineral SupplementSyntheticYes
Magnesium ChlorideMineral SupplementSyntheticYes
L-LeucineBranch-Chained Amino AcidSyntheticYes
L-ValineBranch-Chained Amino AcidSyntheticYes
L-IsoleucineBranch-Chained Amino AcidSyntheticYes
L-LysineEssential Amino AcidPossibly from animal sources or plant-basedUncertain
L-HistidineEssential Amino AcidUsually can be obtained from animal-based sources but there are organic sources tooUncertain
SucraloseSweetenerSyntheticYes
Acesulfame PotassiumSweetenerSyntheticYes
L-PhenylalanineEssential Amino AcidMight be synthetic or animal-basedUncertain
L-ThreonineEssential Amino AcidMight be synthetic or animal-basedUncertain
L-TryptophanEssential Amino AcidMight be synthetic or animal-basedUncertain
L-MethionineEssential Amino AcidMight be synthetic or animal-basedUncertain
Potassium ChlorideMineral SupplementSyntheticYes
Folic Acid (Vitamin B9)Helps produce and maintain new cellsSyntheticYes
Details of the ingredients in Adrenaline Shoc

I’ve cross-referenced the table above with PETA’s list of animal-derivative ingredients, which you can always check for yourself in case you’re skeptical.

While most of the ingredients stated above are either plant-based or synthetically-produced, there are several ingredients that seem unsuitable for vegans, especially the Essential Amino Acids (EAAs).

We’ll look into that in more detail in the sections below.

Adrenaline Shoc Caffeine Content

Ingredients of the back of adrenaline shoc energy drink
There are many ingredients that make up the caffeine content in Adrenaline Shoc.

A 16 fl.oz can of Adrenaline Shoc contains 300mg of natural caffeine.

According to the nutritional label, the caffeine content in Adrenaline Shoc consists of plant-based ingredients that naturally contain caffeine, which are green coffee beans, coffee fruit extract, guarana seed extract, and yerba mate extract.

This makes Adrenaline Shoc vegan-friendly caffeine-wise.

There’s a limit to how much caffeine you should have in a day, according to the FDA. For healthy adults, you can have up to a maximum of 400mg caffeine each day, with 200mg per serve.

Exceeding the daily caffeine intake limit might put you at risk of a caffeine overdose and unwanted adverse effects like:

  • Anxiety
  • Insomnia
  • Digestive issues
  • Muscle breakdown
  • Addiction
  • High blood pressure
  • Rapid heart rate
  • Fatigue
  • Frequent urination and urgency

With 300mg, Adrenaline Shoc is considered one of the strongest energy drinks on the market and isn’t a smart choice if you have caffeine sensitivity or a low caffeine tolerance.

My day-to-day caffeine intake preference is between 50mg – 100mg of caffeine per drink so I don’t get overwhelmed by the side effects like headaches and jitters.

But, to each their own, as everyone has a level of caffeine they’re comfortable with.

I’ve written an article on how your caffeine tolerance is influenced by your body’s caffeine metabolism which you can read more about it here.

If you’re someone who prefers a stronger kick to their caffeine or consumes caffeine frequently, a can of Adrenaline Shoc may provide you with the energy boost you’re looking for.

Just make sure to always drink Adrenaline Shoc in moderation and stay below the 400mg caffeine limit. I also recommend steering clear of other caffeinated sources like coffee and tea when you’re having Adrenaline Shoc.

Adrenaline Shoc Sugar Content

Adrenaline Shoc is labeled as sugar-free, and thus contains no regular sugar. However, Adrenaline Shoc does contain artificial sweeteners; sucralose and acesulfame potassium as sugar substitutes.

As a reference, the American Heart Association (AHA) states that the maximum recommended daily sugar intake for women is 25g whereas, for men, it’s 36g.

Since Adrenaline Shoc has no sugar, you won’t have to worry about counting calories for your overall diet.

If you’re vegan, you also don’t have to be concerned about the origins of the sugar, considering that sugar is usually processed from bone char.

As for artificial sweeteners, they’re usually produced synthetically and have been approved by the FDA for usage in foods and drinks, thus making them vegan-friendly.

BUT, there have been concerns about the testing of artificial sweeteners on animals, negating the whole point of veganism so to be sure, do a little research before consuming them.

Plus, though artificial sweeteners appear to be a healthier version than sugar, the long-term effects of artificial sweeteners remain inconclusive and have yet to be confirmed.

Sugar grains with a sugar in a heart shape on the top
Don’t let a sweet tooth affect your health.

Are the EAAs in Adrenaline Shoc Vegan?

Most EAAs are derived from animal sources so the EAAs in Adrenaline Shoc may not be vegan, though there’s a chance they may be vegan friendly as well. The best way to be sure is to confirm with the manufacturer themselves.

According to the label on the can, A 16 fl.oz can of Adrenaline Shoc contains all 9 of the Essential Amino Acids (EAAs) which are important for your health and overall wellbeing.

The nine Essential Amino Acids (EAAs) in Adrenaline Shoc are:

  • L-Leucine
  • L-Valine
  • L-Isoleucine
  • L-Lysine
  • L-Histidine
  • L-Phenylalanine
  • L-Threonine
  • L-Tryptophan
  • L-Methionine

Out of these amino acids, three of them, namely L-Leucine, L-Valine, and L-Isoleucine are called Branched-Chained-Amino-Acids (BCAAs). As BCAAs can be derived from plants, we can assume that the BCAAs in Adrenaline Shoc are vegan-friendly.

The same can’t be said for the remaining six amino acids. Aside from the BCAAs in Adrenaline Shoc, the rest of the amino acids are often found in animal-based and protein-rich foods, though there are vegan options as well.

Adrenaline Shoc has yet to release a statement about whether they’re vegan or not, so if you’re unsure or skeptical about the source of the amino acids in Adrenaline Shoc, you might want to do more research on it or forward your questions to the company.

Other Ingredients

Potassium phosphate, magnesium chloride, and potassium chloride are mineral supplements and listed as electrolytes in Adrenaline Shoc.

These electrolytes can be obtained from your diet, and they’re often found in vegan-friendly foods and beverages like plain water, green leafy vegetables, bananas, and avocados.

Electrolytes affect many of the functions of our bodies, and an imbalance could lead to unpleasant symptoms.

Electrolytes maintain hydration and pH levels in your body and keep your nervous system and muscles working smoothly.

You tend to lose electrolytes when you sweat, hence it’s important that you remain well hydrated especially during workouts.

Adrenaline Shoc also contains B vitamins that cover a wide range of functions in your body, from maintaining energy levels to supporting cell health.

The B vitamins in Adrenaline Shoc are synthetic, thus making them suitable if you’re on a vegan diet.

Is Adrenaline Shoc Gluten-Free?

Traces of barley, wheat or rye aren’t stated on the label on the can, hence it’s safe to assume that Adrenaline Shoc is gluten-free.

Gluten is a group of proteins that is mainly found in grains like barley, rye, and wheat.

However, some people experience discomfort and unpleasant aftereffects after consuming gluten. Those people usually are sensitive to gluten or have celiac disease.

If you have celiac disease, you need to avoid foods and drinks that contain gluten and follow a gluten-free diet.

Adrenaline Shoc doesn’t seem to contain any ingredients that might trigger celiac disease, but you should consult your doctor in case you’re uncertain.

Is Adrenaline Shoc Suitable For A Keto Diet?

Adrenaline Shoc is suitable for a keto diet as it’s sugar-free and doesn’t contain calories or complex carbohydrates.

What’s a keto diet?

A ketogenic diet is a low-carb, high-fat diet that requires reducing carb intake and replacing it with fats instead.

Following a keto diet seems to be a safer and more effective method of losing weight, plus there’s research that discovered that keto diets are extremely beneficial for diabetics or those with obesity.

For more information about keto diets, you can check out this video below:

A keto diet is one way to lose weight.

When you’re on a keto diet, you should cut down on your carb intake or avoid consuming carbs at all. Since Adrenaline Shoc doesn’t have carbs or sugar, it should be okay for you to have Adrenaline Shoc if you’re following a ketogenic diet.

Though, you must remember that you shouldn’t substitute your meals with Adrenaline Shoc, and always aim to get enough nutrients from appropriate foods and beverages.

Can You Have Adrenaline Shoc If You’re Vegan?

Bowls and dishes of food with vegan friendly food.
A vegan-diet consists of foods from plant-based sources.

Adrenaline Shoc isn’t completely suitable for vegans as it may contain ingredients that are sourced from animals, so I wouldn’t recommend Adrenaline Shoc if you’re a vegan.

There hasn’t been any official statement on whether Adrenaline Shoc is vegan-friendly from the company themselves, nor can we say for certain that all of the ingredients in this energy drink are suitable for vegans.

I understand that some people follow a vegan diet for health benefits and once they’ve accomplished their goals, will revert back to their regular diet. If you happen to be like them, then it’s perfectly fine for you to have Adrenaline Shoc once you’re off your vegan diet.

But if you’re an ethical vegan, I would suggest e-mailing Adrenaline Shoc’s company for proper confirmation about your questions on whether they’re vegan-friendly.

If you’re still unsure, you don’t need to worry as Adrenaline Shoc isn’t the only energy drink out there, plus there are plenty of vegan-certified energy drinks you can try instead.

Alternative Vegan Energy Drinks

Adrenaline Shoc might be not suited for a vegan diet, but there are plenty of other great energy drinks that are vegan-friendly that you can try:

There are great vegan-friendly powdered energy drinks too:

REIZE (10 Out of 10)

Glass of REIZE with its packet to the side on a sandy beach.
REIZE is a vegan-friendly energy drink with great flavor and benefits.

REIZE is a powdered energy drink that comes in convenient 4g sachets that you can easily take with you wherever you go.

With a sensible 50mg of caffeine per serve, REIZE is sugar-free and only has 11 calories.

REIZE also contains a special blend of taurine, ginseng, and B vitaminsall from vegan-friendly sources that work together to provide you with an awesome energy boost without the crash afterward.

Plus, REIZE ships straight to your door for only about $1 per drink, including shipping.

That’s amazing value for money.

Give REIZE a try and I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s a smarter choice than Adrenaline Shoc.

Other Articles

Marty Spargo

I started my own energy drink brand in 2014 and am passionate about educating people about energy drinks so that they can properly understand the ingredients, benefits and risks without being influenced by the marketing messages put out by some brands. You can read my full bio here.

Read Next